THE VETERANS SQUASH RACKETS CLUB OF GREAT BRITAIN

President: Philip Ayton

Chairman: John Woodliffe

Minutes of the 49th Annual General Meeting of the Veterans Squash Rackets Club of Great Britain held at Broxbourne Squash Club on Sunday 22nd April 2012.

Present:	President	-	Philip Ayton
	Vice-Presidents	-	Lance Kinder
		-	Tony McStravick
	Chairman	-	John Woodliffe
	Hon Secretary	-	Nigel Belle
	Hon Treasurer	-	David Garrett
	Tournament Director	-	Geoff Howes
	Hon Match Secretary	-	Tony Seare
	Northern Representative	-	Mike Clemson
	Committee Member	-	Martin Pearse (ex Officio)

39 members attended plus committee above: David Cooper, Graham Chambers, Mo Khalifa, John Timperley, Barry Featherstone, Tony Wheeler, Robert Smith, Karen Hume, Tom Hendry, Chris Ansell, Keith Jones, Paramjit Deol, Mike McLaughlin, Graham Davies, Don Williams, Brian Phillips, Jack Harris, Aubrey Waddy, Jim Switzer, Keith Searle, Chris Howes, Geoff Gill, Gordon Coulthard, Dean Clayton, Adrian Wright, Mark Cowley, Chris Goodbourn, Alison Goy, Paul Allen, Sam Mueller, Alan Boulden, Tony Grace, Darren Withey, Chris Harland, Derek Thorpe, Barry Skelding, Mike Fagg, Stuart Hardy.

Apologies were received from Jeremy Lyon, Andrew Beeston, Patrick Fleming.

1 Opening of AGM

The President opened the meeting at 15.45 and welcomed all those present.

2 Minutes of 48th AGM

These were read, John Timperley proposed, Tony Wheeler seconded and it was carried that these minutes were a true record and were accordingly signed by the President.

3 Matters Arising

Ladies Report. The meeting was advised that the committee had considered the idea of combining this with the Chairman's report but had decided, for the moment, not to proceed.

4 Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer briefly explained the published accounts for the year ending 30th June 2011. It was proposed by Robert Smith, seconded by Tony Seare and carried unanimously that the accounts be adopted.

There then followed a lengthy discussion on the current financial position. Whilst there was now a healthy bank balance the Treasurer pointed out that the Club is now, and has been for the last year or so, running at a small overall annual loss. With the 50th Anniversary celebrations likely to eat considerably into our reserves. the meeting discussed various options to rectify the situation. These included:

- Handbook - print it every two years not annually,

- put all information on line and do away with the book.

A straw poll by a show of hands to keep the hard copy indicated 2 to 1 against. - Increase membership fees (annual subscriptions)

- Increase Championship fees,
- Cut/reduce Championship prizes,
- Increase the membership.

The various merits and demerits of the above were discussed. Those members who raised points and contributed to the discussions included: Dean Clayton. Tom Hendry, John Timperley, Keith Jones, Mike Clemson, Tony McStravick, Stuart Hardy, Robert Smith, Martin Pearse.

It was agreed that all options would be discussed at the next Committee meeting.

5 Chairman's Report

The Chairman started his report by thanking our President, Philip Ayton, for his continued help and involvement with Club affairs and stated that the Club was in very good heart. Other points covered:

- a) **Friendly Matches.** The Chairman advised that 27 friendlies had been played during the season and that these had been arranged by just 15 members. He urged more members to organise a match.
- b) **Tours.** The Chairman reported on a very successful weekend against the Fitzwilliam Club from Ireland. As the squash calendar is very full these days there is less time to fit in a tour, but ideas for a tour would be most welcome.
- c) The Club Tournament. The Chairman thanked Geoff Howes for his excellent running and organizing of this years finals weekend at Broxbourne.
- d) **50th Anniversary.** The Chairman advised that plans to celebrate the Club's 50th Anniversary next year in 2013 were progressing. Whilst many members had pledged money to help financially he hoped many more would be forthcoming.
- e) Vinnie Taylor. The Chairman thanked Vinnie, the member from Canada, for making the effort to come over to play in the Club Tournament.
- f) PAR vs HiHo scoring. The Chairman invited Martin Pearse to address the members present on the current situation. He advised that whilst the WSF (World Squash Federation) had adopted PAR scoring for all of their events ESR (England Squash & Racketball) were hoping to do the same. As various surveys had indicated however most 'masters' players preferred HiHo scoring. ESR and ESM (England Squash Masters) have now agreed to undertake a referendum – detailed wording yet to be agreed. It was hoped that ESR would abide by the results of this referendum, whichever scoring system is voted for.
- **g)** The Committee. The Chairman thanked all members of the Committee for giving up so much of their time for the good of the members. It was very much appreciated.

6 Election of Officers.

The President advised that all current Committee members were prepared to stand for re-election. There being no further nominations Lance Kinder proposed, Tom Hendry seconded and it was carried that all be elected for the coming year.

Chairman	-	John Woodliffe
Hon. Secretary	-	Nigel Belle
Hon. Treasurer	-	David Garrett
Hon. Match Secretary	-	Tony Seare
Tournament Director	-	Geoff Howes
Ex officio-ES Masters	-	Martin Pearse
Publicity	-	lan McKenzie
Committee Member	-	Mandy Akin
Northern Representative	-	Mike Clemson

7 Any other business.

a) Future Club Tournaments. Martin Pearse proposed that in future, all rounds of the Club Tournament should take place over two weekends instead of over 6 months as currently. One weekend for all singles matches and one weekend for all doubles. Tournament Director to canvass opinions of this year's tournament participants by e mail and Committee to urgently discuss and report.

8 Closure of AGM.

There being no further business the President thanked all for coming, thanked all Committee members for their hard work over the past year and closed the Meeting at 16.30.

8th May 2012

Distribution: President, all committee members, Chief Executive of England Squash.