THE VETERANS SQUASH RACKETS CLUB OF GREAT BRITAIN

President: Philip Ayton

Chair: Ian Graham

<u>Minutes of the 61st Annual General Meeting</u> of the Veterans Squash Rackets Club of Great Britain held at Colets Health & Fitness, St. Nicholas Road, Thames Ditton,KT7 0PW On Sunday 8th September 2024.

Present:	President	-	Philip Ayton
	Chairman	-	lan Graham
	Hon Secretary	-	Nigel Belle
	Hon Treasurer	-	Robert Smith
	Hon Match Secretary	-	Nick Sheppard
	Tournament Director	-	Geoff Howes
	ESM Chairman	-	Stuart Hardy
	Ordinary Members	-	Karen Hume

30 members, including the above attended the meeting: Aubrey Waddy, Barry Featherstone, Ros Featherstone, Martin Miller, Rick Boxer, Chris Ansell, Carl Goulding, Kevin Connors, Peter Culver, Dale McCarter, Jonathan Bomford, David Parker, Dillwyn Rosser, Dan Sweeney, Teejay Sugunro, David Harris, Clark Adam, Catherine Ruffle, Allen Barwise, Bryan Francis, Dermot Hurford, Paul Temple

Apologies for absence: Mike Clemson, Mike Halpin, Dean Clayton, Paul Clarke.

1. Opening of AGM

The President opened the meeting at 13.25 and welcomed all those present.

2. Approval of 60th AGM Minutes.

These minutes had been posted on our website and had been distributed at the meeting. They were proposed by Dillwyn Rosser, seconded by Peter Culver and carried unanimously that they were a true record and accordingly were signed by the President.

3. Matters arising.

Nil.

4. Approval of 2023 Accounts.

The 12 months accounts to 31st December 2023 were explained by the Hon. Treasurer. Adoption of the accounts was proposed by Aubrey Waddy seconded by Dillwyn Rosser and carried unanimously.

5. Chair's Annual Report 2023/4.

A quieter year than our 60th but still busy. Our members have had many successes in European, National and Regional events with a good number selected for the Home Internationals.

Multi players fixtures again proved popular against the Home Nations, Civil Service, Fire Brigade, Oxford Uni and many others. Tours to Ireland, York and Jersey were much enjoyed. RAC, Woodcote Park, hosted a first Doubles fixture against the Jesters and our annual Festival. The Escorts won for the first time with the title going to the winners of the last and best contest of the day.

A new Website has added a great deal of extra functionality for members, making it easier to opt into matches and find information. Brian Brock has set this up for us and it is an excellent addition for our Club. We are losing some "big hitters" at the AGM. Philip Ayton will stand down as President. Nigel Belle will stand down after 17 years as Secretary, Newsletter editor and Archivist. Geoff Howes will be calling time after 18 years running the tournaments. All will receive our sincere thanks and more at the AGM.

Our committee members have provided sterling service in the past year. Treasurer, Robert Smith and Fixtures Sec, Nick Sheppard put in a lot of unseen work as do other committee members running Tours, Golf and writing Newsletter articles. GBV would be the poorer without them.

The Website and Newsletters provide a great deal more insight than my thumbnail sketch of the past year and I whole heartedly commend them to you as evidence of this thriving organisation.

lan Graham Chair

6. Election of Officers.

The meeting was asked to approve the Club Officers en bloc as per the list below. It was proposed by Philip Ayton seconded by Dillwyn Rosser and carried unanimously that the Officers below be elected:

Honorary Life Member President Vice President Chairman Honorary Secretary Honorary Treasurer Tournament Director Honorary Match Secretary Ordinary Member Ex Officio (ESM Chairman) Area Representatives Philip Ayton Nigel Belle Geoff Howes Ian Graham Linda Pritchard Robert Smith Keith Ragg Nick Sheppard Karen Hume Stuart Hardy Allen Barwise (North) Ian Ross (Scotland) Lynne Davies (Wales) Andy Murray (Midlands)

The offices of Vice Presidents, with the exception of Lance Kinder who died in December 2023, remain as 2023 – Tony McStravick, Tony Gathercole John Woodliffe and Tom Hendry.

The offices of Honorary Life Members remain as in 2023 – Jonah Barrington, Mike Clemson and Alex Hamilton.

7. Any other business.

Nil.

 Presentations. Following a few words of sincere thanks by Robert Smith to those retiring – Philip Ayton, President, Nigel Belle Hon Secretary and Geoff Howes Tournament Director – The Chair made presentations to all three.

Closure of 61st AGM

There being no further business the President thanked all for attending the meeting and thanked all Committee members for their hard work during the year and closed the meeting at 14.10.

14th September 2024.

Distribution: President, all Committee members, England Squash Masters Chairman. (Note: These minutes to be formally approved at the 62nd AGM)